Posted on

Manny Machado is Cal Ripken Jr. on Swag 9

Manny-Machado-Cal-Ripken-e1344516094928

It’s way too early in his career to start comparing Manny and the great 8. But I don’t care, I love it. The similarities are too striking, and if you can’t see it then you’re naive. This is what I think though: Manny Machado is Cal Ripken on Swag 9. What exactly does that mean? It means Manny has has the technical skills and numbers (.318/.353/.486 through June 12) to make a claim that he could be as good as Cal (.276/.340/.447 for his career), but on top of that he has so much swag it almost hurts. I know people compare Manny to A-Rod, but I hate A-Rod, and the Yankees, and I’m simply not goint to do that.

tumblr_mn8efgeGyx1rn9h1jo1_500[1]

At 20 years old, he is leading the league through June 12 in doubles (28) and is also leading the AL in WAR (wins above replacement) with 3.9. He is doing all of this before the age of 21. That is bad ass. The kid can’t even legally have a beer until next month, and he’s out there tearing up the majors. To be honest, if there’s a guy who deserves to crack open a cold one for his play on the field, it’s this guy.

The real point I’m trying to make is really simple though. Cal Ripken Jr. was the face of the Orioles for over a decade. I thought Adam Jones was going to be that face, but I’m all in on Manny Machado right now. I think he is exactly what this organization needs, and I think he can be a staple in Baltimore for years to come. He is someone that kids can look up to and someone this city can be proud to have representing it. It’s amazing plays like this that will cement Machado’s legacy:

The display that Manny has put on this season has been beautiful and that wonderful GIF is just one testimony of the greatness he brings to this Orioles infield. Watching Manny routinely gobble up infield ground balls and sling them over to Chris “Crush” (Country) Davis for the out has been more satisfying than sex with a stranger. It’s gotten to the point where I simply know that any ball batted in the vicinity of third is going to be safely fielded by Manny. He just has Gold Glove written all over him. It will be interesting to see if and when the Orioles move Machado over to Shortstop, which is his true position.

I just want to say that I obviously hold Cal to a completely different standard when it comes to Baltimore greatness. While the similarities between Ripken and Machado are interesting, Ripken’s legacy in the city of Baltimore is timeless. His consecutive games record will never ever be broken. He is a true Baltimore legend. But I truly think we are watching a legend in the making in Manny Machado. The league itself has seen some truly incredible young talent over the past year when you look at Mike Trout and Bryce Harper (who I love). Mike Trout is an animal and Bryce Harper is pretty badass, but Manny Machado just has swag for days. I love it. If you’ve been down to The Yard and heard the “Manny” chants then you know exactly what I’m talking about. Just check out that Canadian tuxedo he’s rocking up there. My point exactly. Let me know what you think in the comments. I’d love to hear some diverse perspectives on this.

Peace hon,
OsandNattyBohs

P.S. Remember when Manny completely faked out everyone for this out? He’s not real.

tumblr_md5nva88ZH1ro5xweo1_400[1]

Leave a Reply

